The Mark Turnbull Travel Award 2019

The Mark Turnbull Travel Award for Graduate Landscape Architects
Learn from a world perspective to influence in Scotland

Using overseas travel to gain an insight into best and innovative landscape practice to address some of the current landscape challenges facing Scotland. This award will benefit future generations of graduate landscape architects in Scotland as well as the practice of landscape architecture by bringing overseas experience and knowledge back to the country.

Mark Turnbull and his Learning from Travel

Mark Turnbull was one of the country’s most eminent Landscape Architects, winner of the Landscape Institute’s Gold Medal Award and recognised for the contribution that overseas learning and experience from his training and work in the USA brought to his practice in Scotland

In June 2018 Dr Amber Roberts won the inaugural Mark Turnbull Travel Award with her submission entitled Scotland’s Future Landscapes: Ensuring Resilience for the Profession – Design for an Ageing Population and Strengthening Scottish Landscape Education – the legacy and influence of Ian McHarg. Amber’s full report can be viewed here

Grant Award

The total value of the award is up to a maximum of £5,000 which will be allocated to one successful applicant depending on the assessment of submissions. The Award is open to landscape architects qualified to graduate or post graduate level. It is not open to students.

Full details of the award can be found in our Guidance for Applicants. Those interested in applying should download the Application Form and return it to by Friday the 22nd of June.

Comments are closed.